WEB DESIGN: MALCOLM CHARLTON © COPYRIGHT LIVERPOOL CURLING CLUB MMXXIII LOGO DESIGN: GREG TUTTY
The Liverpool Curling club has an 80 year tradition of providing the Liverpool, Nova Scotia area with a quality curling venue. It was built in 1935 at a cost of $7280 with a unique double layer of tongue and groove flooring. In 1943, the Club went to war when it was leased to the Canadian Army Reserve. Since then, there have been many changes some by design, some by accident.
January 26, 1948 was a watershed date for the club. On that day, the first stone was thrown on a new ice surface created by a refrigeration plant - a plant that lasted until 2003.
A dining room and furnace was installed in 1950 and from 1951 until 1956 the ice was used for public skating after the curling season.
The ladies formed a separate club in 1951 under first president Marjorie Harris.
But disaster struck on March 9, 1965 when fire destroyed the club room and a large portion of the ice shed - a fire so intense stones actually cracked from the heat of the fire. But, on December 9th 1965 the rebuilt club and new curling rink were officially opened.
The Curling club is now run by an entirely volunteer executive committee and new members are always welcome and encouraged to become involved. We offer a pleasant and inviting environment with friends and neighbours to enjoy one of the great traditions of a Canadian Winter and to do so in comfort. If you're interested, contact any of the Executive members.